The Romanian Import: Irina Nicula talks about caffeine addiction, people who can’t spell and sexual relations with a duck

Photobucket
One of the main rules of being in a band is no bandcest. What is bandcest? It’s when two band members get intimately involved and it almost always ruins the band. It’s just not a smart thing to do: mix work with pleasure…well, you know what I mean. But Ideal Zero is a little different. Their band was born through the intimate relationship of two band members- Irina Nicula, the lead singer, and Clint Waddell, the keyboardist.  Although Irina has been brought up by a musician, she never really took a chance at music until she met Clint. So can we call it bandcest, considering it gave birth to a band, rather than breaking one up? Maybe we should call Ideal Zero a love child instead. Being winners of Rock for Blood 2011, Irina is extremely busy recording and preparing her wedding, but I got a chance to steal her away from it all, so we can get a glimpse of what’s behind that voice.

http://www.reverbnation.com/idealzero

SJ:Tell me a brief history of you, the person, not the singer.
IN: I was born in Romania, during the time in which it was under communist rule. My parents took a lot of great risks and made incredible sacrifices in order to come to the United Sates. I came here at the age of 5 and really had a normal, wonderful childhood, growing up in New Hampshire. I was initially curious about music, writing, and the arts, but my parents discouraged it, and I was pushed to excel in school, and to this day I am very focused and passionate about learning. I have had an amazing life so far, came from a nurturing family, traveled a lot, and I know things are only going to get better!

SJ: If you could change one thing about your past, what would it be?
IN:
I really can’t think of anything significant that I would have changed. Every experience has made me who I am today. It’s important to make mistakes and learn from them.

SJ: Your biggest pet peeve is?
IN:
I’m a bit of a grammar freak. I go a little nuts when I see your and you’re being misused, or they’re and their. My parents wanted me to excel at English when we moved to the states, and wanted to ensure that I never had any problems communicating…I guess that stuck with me.

SJ: What’s your favorite song?
IN:
How could I possibly choose? The most epic and beautiful song to me would have to be Bohemian Rhapsody by Queen. It never gets old! It’s a masterpiece.

SJ: Where do you find inspiration?
IN:
Music, of course. A song, a single note, a lyric, can fill my soul with energy, determination, passion, anything really. I absorb the feeling of a song and I really get taken away. I can’t get ready for anything, prepare for any event (big or small) on a daily basis without some music in the background providing the soundtrack to my life.

SJ: What’s your favorite perfume?
IN:
Perfumes are one of the only things I will spend a lot of money on. I will get knock off brands of everything else on the planet, but I have to have Dolce & Gabbana perfume!
 
SJ: Teach us a bad word in a different language.
IN:
Yet-Pet. I won’t say what it means, but I came across it when I was learning some words in Thai for a trip I took. Let’s just say it involves having amorous relations with a duck.

SJ: What’s your ideal evening?
IN:
A bottle of wine, a warm blanket on a cold day, my dog and my family next to me watching something on Netflix, talking and laughing. The simple things are the best in the world. Relaxation is ideal!

SJ: Are you addicted to anything?
IN:
I cannot function without caffeine. I love energy drinks, COFFEE, soda, anything that gives me a kick in the morning.

SJ: What’s the first thing you think about when you wake up?
IN:
See above!

SJ: What’s your biggest fear?
IN:
Heights! I can’t even look at people riding roller coasters or anything of that nature. Just thinking about being up high sends me into a panic.

SJ: What gadget could you not live without?
IN:
My GPS. I don’t know how I found anything before I had one. My internal navigation system is nonexistent. I have a terrible sense of direction.

SJ: Finish this sentence: The three things that are important in life are:

IN:Love, happiness, fulfillment.

About anyonesguessmusic

Singer and guitarist for the band Anyone's Guess. www.anyonesguessmusic.com
This entry was posted in Beyond Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

