THE UNIQUE SIDE OF MUSIC: Janani talks about learning French from Megadeth, immortality and becoming a hobo

Photobucket
Besides being in the band JANANI (named after their lead singer), Janani was recently in an indie film called Shadow Speak. She writes songs on her own and well as recording with Jeremy Birdsall of Kavode Records.  With the band’s new album, Hey! Mister!, scheduled to come out towards the end of May, the band is staying busy with plans to record two music videos and possibly touring sometime this year. The band members, aside from Janani, are: Erick Campos (Bassist), Tia LaBianco (Vocalist/Rhythm Guitarist), Glenn Kastrinos (Drummer Extraordinaire), and Will Regelmann (Lead Guitarist). While you’re listening to their unusual, original sound at www.musicbyjanani.comand  www.reverbnation.com/janani, join me as we pick Janani’s brain.

 
S:  What did you want to be “when you grow up?”
J:
When I was younger, I actually wanted to be an artist or a music teacher. I found art in about 1st grade and music shortly thereafter. Both of those things play a role in my life; especially music, as you can see.

S:  If you could chose a way to die, what would it be?
J:I’d actually rather become immortal. Unfortunately, that goal is like trying to fly a kite with no wind. It doesn’t happen.

S: What’s your favorite book?
J: You know, I really like blank journals. I like writing my own stories.

S: Do you type or hand-write your songs?
J: I do both. Sometimes I write just a few lines on paper and the rest I type because editing lyrics is much easier on the computer, but I’m starting to write entire songs on paper now. It’s much easier to write a song down wherever I am than to find a computer to type it up.  

S: What’s the best smelling flower?
J: I’m not really one to smell flowers, but I like looking at them. I can tell you I don’t like the smell of roses though.

S: If you were told that you’re not allowed to do anything you’re working on right now and had to chose something else, what would that be?
J: There’s nothing else for me. I don’t give up easily. I would find a way to keep doing what I want. Otherwise, I become a hobo or something

S:  What’s your ideal day?
J: My ideal day is a day when I can just have a good time with my friends. I’m always busy with music stuff, so kicking back and having fun is nice every once in awhile.

S:Are you a night owl, or a morning person?
J:A night-owl, definitely. Most of my songs are written in the middle of the night.

S: Coke or Pepsi?
J:
Coke

S: What’s more important, the outcome or the time you spent getting to the outcome?
J: Well, usually once I get to the outcome, the outcome stands out more than the time I spent getting there. The time I spent becomes obsolete, so I would say the time I spent getting there is more important since it’s what makes me who I am. Unfortunately, it’s often overlooked.

 S: Say something in another language. Where did you learn that?
J: “A tout le monde. A tout mes amis. Je vous aime. Je dois partir.” I learned these lyrics from the song A Tout Le Monde by Megadeth. 
 
S: Finish this sentence:The three things I could never live without are:
J: music, love, and people.

 

About anyonesguessmusic

Singer and guitarist for the band Anyone's Guess. www.anyonesguessmusic.com
This entry was posted in Beyond Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

