Eros


Eros: “Attack and Recoil”
Review by Xander Rich
www.myspace.com/erosbreaks

When I received “Attack and Recoil” by Eros, I took one look at the cover of a perfect pipeline wave and expected a Sublime-ish surf rock sound to float into my headphones.
Tip #1 – don’t do that.  Eros is a DJ. Blew that one.
Now, I’m not really a big fan of anything that could be played at a club. It’s just not music that I enjoy too much. I used to be big into Oakenfold and Chemical Brothers back in the late 90’s, but I’ve since moved on to another sound light years away from it.

“Attack and Recoil” made me want to revisit it, though, and mainly because of just how darn good it’s produced.  A remix of “Hail” by singer/songwriter Jillian Speer kept my interest from beginning to end. Even without hearing the original song, I found myself more interested in the content of the song rather than whether or not it was better off as a spoken-word favorite. The drifting in between the two genres and back out again could’ve been disastrous, but just wasn’t.

The album features mixes of many notables, including space-rock giants Coldplay, Del the Funkee Homosapien(The Gorillaz), Tiesto and more. I was surprised to hear some of the artists that were worlds away from each other genre-wise and how they were almost surgically carved into an assault of breakbeat/trance/acid mixes, and done so tastefully.

I’m not sure how long Eros has been around, but if he keeps putting out albums like this one, I doubt they’ll be a shortage of people that listen. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it’s in the same company as Van Dyk or Oakenfold, but it’s not too far. “Attack and Recoil” is one I’d spin at a party without a second thought.

About orlandobands

OrlandoBands.com was founded on the idea of positive change for the music and media industry. The way Entertainment is established is changing rapidly. Artist now have more power to expose themselves in new and effective ways. Our mission is to help find positive, simple and effective solutions to help artists gain attention. Through our free services on OrlandoBands.com and our ever growing marketing campaigns we have been able to establish actions that work. If you are located in the Florida area and would like to take advantage we encourage you to register with us today. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or concerns you may have.
This entry was posted in Album Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

